Is mindfulness just for the privileged?

Why are there now hundreds of courses offering to change your life and why do they cost so bloomin’ much?

If you can’t afford to attend a costly mindfulness class, are you excluded from the practice?

This week my friend sent me a link to a new ‘Mindfulness Meditation Course’ which is about to start locally, as she knows I am trying live a more mindful life.

So I followed the link to find that for a considerable lump sum you can be mindful. And a part of me died. Nothing to do with the sessions being held in the cemetery.

I think that the recent upsurge in interest in mindfulness is fuelled by an overworked and over stimulated collection of 30 somethings to 60 somethings searching for a quick fix for their unusually high anxiety and stress levels.

Is not foolish to be  running courses offering to make you more mindful within a really short timeframe?

As we are discovering each week in the support group, mindfulness is a way of being, a way of interacting with the world in a more ‘tuned in’ and alert manner. This takes constant adjustment and effort.

Sometimes it feels a bit like the more you know about mindfulness, the less you practice it.

I wish everyone well that wants to discover or deepen their knowledge of mindfulness, however I think all courses should come with the health warning that attending a one-off or four week course will not make you more mindful.

At best it will open the door to a world of potential mindful moments, but it takes real determination to hold that door open and keep it open.

I am three months into trying to be more mindful and running a regular mindfulness support group and I’m still finding the handle quite stiff!

S x

