The Body Scan, Jon Kabot Zinn: YouTube, 21/09/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D8oKWQiEWYs

‘If you are breathing, there is more right with you than is wrong with you’

My First Attempt

Fours day after setting this as a homework challenge, I have managed to set aside 30 minutes whilst the children watched a film with their dad to listen to The Body Scan Guided Meditation. I have been like a coiled spring for the last two days so this was the perfect time to put mindfulness to the test!

  • Body: The first thing I noticed was I am completely out of touch with the lower half of my body. I could barely feel any of my toes, let alone focus on them. I found this particularly worrying as I have taken up running recently (and really enjoying it) and now I am slightly concerned that I am not paying enough attention to them which might cause problems further down the (running) track. Sorry, never could resist a bad pun.
  • Thoughts: Lots of people talk about ‘thought clouds’ and your thoughts drifting off during meditation. My thoughts during today’s practise were like wild horses that needed to be caught by an experienced cowboy with a lasso, constantly.
  • Sleep: I found myself drifting off a little after about five minutes, but fortunately I remembered I could open my eyes during meditation and that really helped to refocus my thoughts. I wasn’t surprised by this at all as I hardly ever manage to sit through a whole film without falling asleep. This probably reflects modern life; if one isn’t charging around like a manic, one is asleep. Or dead. I’m hoping practising mindfulness will help me to cultivate a middle ground.
  • Perspective: I particularly like the way Jon Kabot Zinn refers says, ‘If you’re breathing there is more right with you than is wrong with you’. This light-hearted comment reminded me to try and keep some perspective over my thoughts.
  • ‘Clock-Time’: On reflection, I am feeling rather pleased that I managed to lie down in the middle of the day, forget about all of the other things I needed (wanted) to achieve today and focus on my own well-being. I escaped what Kabot Zinn refers to as ‘Clock-Time’ for thirty minutes, and although I was having a major battle taming the wild horses in my mind, to the untrained eye, I was lying practically still, in my room, on my own, in a state of calm.

I’m going to attempt to listen to this mediation at least one more time before the support group meet on Thursday, with the hope of being able to tune into the words of the meditation more than the direction of the horses.

Have you listened to this meditation? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it.

Thanks,

SiobhanB x

Photograph courtesy of Malcolm Bawn – malcbawn@yahoo.com 

